To start things off, I am announcing a new award given to displays of geekiness and/or celebrations of academic topics in music releases in any format, with special attention given to J-Pop releases. Though the first couple of winners are math-oriented, this award is by no means restricted to math-related stuff. If you would like to nominate any recording, PV, concert clip, etc., for this award, please let me know.

2007 was a truly awesome year, not just because I discovered Hello! Project in July 2007, but also because within four months of my discovering H!P, H!P released two works of such overwhelmingly mathtastic awesomeness that (being a math major) my appreciation for H!P went through the roof.

So these are the first two recipients of the Excellence in Unabashed Geekitude Award. Since I have other stuff I need to be doing today, I’ll save the second for later and write up my reasons for awarding the first award now.

Without further ado, the First Excellence in Unabashed Geekitude Award goes to…

Miyabi Natsuyaki, Buono!, and the director(s) of the PV for “Honto no Jibun” (whose name(s) I have been unable to identify, possibly because my Japanese is terrible–if you have a name for this elusive director, I will give proper credit) for the awesometastic segment featuring Miyabi enthusiastically putting up an expansion of π to 144 decimal places on a whiteboard to tremendous applause from Momoko and Airi (~3:00-3:14):

And so … it begins!

Honto no Jibun

The pure maniacal glee on Miyabi’s face is priceless.

Honto no Jibun

More! Miyabi thinks. Must add more rational numbers to this Cauchy sequence converging to π…

Honto no Jibun

And Miyabi stops after 144 decimal places (or 145 digits if you include the initial 3). Which is as good a place to stop as any, π being irrational. This is probably more of π than I’ve ever written down. Kudos to Miyabi.

Honto no Jibun

Momoko and Airi agree! A virtuoso performance indeed.

I must say, though, 10 is too common a base to expand in. I want to see a p-adic representation of π for some prime p. That’d be exciting.

And furthermore, π is a relatively boring transcendental number. I’d be even more impressed if Miyabi expanded e (2.718281828…) or Feigenbaum’s constant (4.6692016…). In fact, apparently the world record for the most decimal places in an expansion of Feigenbaum’s constant (as of 1999, at least) is only 576. So if Miyabi were to outdo herself by giving us ~600 digits of Feigenbaum’s constant in the PV to “Renai♥Rider”, I would …

I have no idea how I would react to that. But I would die happy.

And Wiki.ThePPN says Miyabi hates math. I don’t believe that for a second.

–Kawaiirrhea

EDIT: Since posting this entry a couple of hours ago, I’ve learned that the PV for “Renai♥Rider” is out, and while it rocks my socks off (and I might review it later), it doesn’t feature Miyabi expanding Feigenbaum’s constant to any length. Oh well. Maybe next time. :)

