This is a semi-response to Amy’s recent poll. It’s not a complete response because I have nothing to say for a bunch of these categories, and furthermore, I think it’s much more useful to have a few top picks in each category than just one winner. Probably the main reason why modern-day politics has been in such a slump is that too few jurisdictions have any form of preferential voting in place. Voting for just a single candidate (for example, plurality voting) is a terrible, terrible system. But I digress…

Anyway, in the preferentialist spirit, I will have four top-ranked contenders in each of the following eight categories:

  • Best Album — Best compilation of recordings in an album or mini-album format.
  • Best Single — Best release in the single format. All tracks are taken into consideration.
  • Best Recording — Best overall individual track.
  • Best Composition — Most musically meritorious track.
  • Best Lyrics — Most lyrically laudable track.
  • Best Instrumental Performance — Most instrumentally impressive track.
  • Best Vocal Performance — Most vocally virtuoso track.
  • Best PV — Best music/promotional video.

So without further ado…


  1. Café Buono! — Buono!
  2. Kirari to Fuyu — Tsukishima Kirari starring Kusumi Koharu (Morning Musume.)
  3. 5 (FIVE) — Berryz Koubou
  4. COVER YOU — Morning Musume.


  1. Minna no Tamago — Shugo Chara Egg!
  2. Renai♥Rider — Buono!
  3. Papancake — Tsukishima Kirari starring Kusumi Koharu (Morning Musume.)
  4. FOREVER LOVE — °C-ute


  1. “Love Chick” — Tsukishima Kirari starring Kusumi Koharu (Morning Musume.)
  2. “Hoshi no Hitsujitachi” — Buono!
  3. “Sono Bamen de Bibiccha Ikenai jan!” — Morning Musume.
  4. “Minna no Tamago” — Shugo Chara Egg!


  1. “Oh! Tomodachi” — Tsukishima Kirari starring Kusumi Koharu (Morning Musume.) [composed and arranged by BOUNCEBACK]
  2. “Yume wo Hitotsubu ~Berryz Kamen Ending Theme~” — Berryz Koubou [composed by Tsunku; arranged by Takahashi Yuichi]
  3. “Tan Tan Taan!” — MilkyWay [composed and arranged by Maeyamada Kenichi]
  4. “Hajimari no Uta” — Shugo Chara Egg! [composed by Izumi Noritaka; arranged by Nakano Sadahiro]


  1. “Internet Cupid” — Buono! [lyrics by Masanori Ouchi]
  2. “16sai no Koi Nante” — Abe Natsumi & Yajima Maimi (°C-ute) [lyrics by KAN]
  3. “Papancake” — Tsukishima Kirari starring Kusumi Koharu (Morning Musume.) [lyrics by 2°C]
  4. “Last Forever” — Buono! [lyrics by Kawakami Natsuki]


  1. “Janakya Mottainai!” — Buono!
  2. “Saigo no Natsuyasumi” — v-u-den
  3. “BE” — Berryz Koubou
  4. “Kioku no Meiro” — High-King


  1. “Johnny e no Dengen” — Morning Musume.
  2. “Hanaichimonme” — Matsuura Aya
  3. “Rottara Rottara” — Buono!
  4. “ROMANCE” — Morning Musume.


  1. “Renai♥Rider” — Buono!
  2. “Dschinghis Khan Tartar Mix (β Ver.)” — Dschinghis Khan × Berryz Koubou
  3. “Resonant Blue (Another Ver.)” — Morning Musume.
  4. “Gachinko de Ikou!” — Buono!